The term "misdemeanor" means any criminal offense that is punishable under the laws of the State of Florida, or that would be punishable if committed in Florida, by a term of imprisonment in a county correctional facility, except an extended term, not in excess of one year. The term "misdemeanor" does not mean a conviction for any noncriminal traffic violation of any provision of chapter 316, F.S., or any municipal or county ordinance.
There are two different degrees of criminal misdemeanor. In a first-degree offense, the defendant has been convicted of a crime such as a first offense DUI, petit theft, identity theft, or criminal mischief over $200. The maximum fine for a 1st degree misdemeanor is $1,000, to one year in jail. On the other hand, a 2nd degree misdemeanor carries a maximum fine of $500 or 60 days in jail, and relates to criminal mischief under $200.
For a Misdemeanor Defense Consultation with Sneider Law in Okeechobee, Florida,
Select an Area of Interest:
How Can We Help?